Come and Listen to a Prophet’s Voice – April 8, 2015

So Easter, Conference, the Final Four, and an attendance miracle all in one week…

I heard about the Young freshmen players who held it together for Duke in the final game yesterday. It is a lot like us here. Half the mission now has under one year in the field. And I´m almost 19… what? I know, right? I´m turning into an old missionary before my time. But we keep going. The missionaries in this misión, really, for the most part, are good guys. And I think most will go on to lead happy, and productive lives when they return home.

When I return, I really want to go just work with the Elders one whole day, and just see what they do in America. I´ll put on my church clothes, and just go with them. In my world, that´s free lessons with a member. Something we´d die for.

During conference I really liked the talk by the seventy in the priesthood sesión who´s son said: That was the hardest thing I´ve ever done, Dad. And I never want to do it again. And the answers that the other gave. This mission is the hardest thing I´ve ever done. And I never want to do it again. But it´s worth it.

We just learned from the Zone Leaders today; they talked a little about the diligence in our weekly email to the President. The things I´ve taken away from Conference, and the aspects of diligence that I noted today in the talk of the zone leaders have been about not wasting time, and about making habits of the things that will invite the Spirit. I particularly enjoyed Elder Eyring´s talk about prayer, where he gave us specific suggestions, of how we should approach our prayers, and what we should be asking for:

“President Joseph F. Smith taught will allow God to give us the inspiration necessary for us to have power in the priesthood. He put it simply:

‘We do not have to cry unto him with many words. We do not have to weary him with long prayers. What we do need, and what we should do as Latter-day Saints, for our own good, is to go before him often, to witness unto him that we remember him and that we are willing to take upon us his name, keep his commandments, work righteousness; and that we desire his Spirit to help us.’

And then President Smith told us what we should pray for, as his servants pledged to speak and act for God. He said: ‘What do you pray for? You pray that God may recognize you, that he may hear your prayers, and that he may bless you with his Spirit.’

It is not a matter so much of which words to use, but it will take some patience. It is an approach to your Heavenly Father with the intent to be recognized by Him personally. He is the God above all, the Father of all, and yet willing to give undivided attention to one of His children. That may be why the Savior used the words ‘Our Father which art in heaven, Hallowed be thy name.'”

We had a miracle on Sunday with a surprise attendance of a man, the father of a large family. He was a contact of the other Elders in the area adjacent to us. They passed us the reference and said that they´d invited him to conference. He expressed that he wanted to come. We hadn´t visited him, because he lives in a part of our área that´s more distant. But he came all the way to the Stake Center to watch Conference, Sunday morning.

And my time is up
Bye!!
Elder Schafer
PS I thought it was weird the Prophet only talked twice.
Leave a Reply

