Count Your Blessings! – August 25, 2015

This week was very good, because we went to the temple as a zone. I love the temple. I find that every time I go, whatever might have been worrying or stressing me is forgotten, and it tends to resolve itself. Or I´m able to deal with it with less stress. I can´t wait to be able to go whenever I want again.

It´s been difficult in that people have not been chosing to accept the invitations we give them. But, one thing I´ve been trying to work on with investigators and converts is to empasis reading the scriptures. We have an older couple that are reading the Book of Mormon. I hope they end up coming to church in the next few weeks.

I´m looking forward to the conference with President Nelson. They´ve been changing the day of the conference with him. First it was Thursday, then Tuesday, now it´s Friday. It´s also not going to be in the flesh. We´ll have it over satellite from Salt Lake. The rumor is that it´ll be broadcast to all the missions of Central America at one time.

 
But whatever. I get used to getting thrown around, and having my Schedule changed at the drop of a hat by the powers that be. 
 
We need to always count our blessings. I doubt the news has been coming out in the states, but here, the government of Guatemala is in crisis. The President is fleeing a capture order on charges of corruption or something like that, and the vicepresidenta was taken in custody from a hospital and is now on trial for the same. Apparently they stole a ton of money. (I´ve Heard different numbers). But the situation is stable, and E remains it´s old boring self, don´t worry your heads to gray hairs about me.
 
My point is that in Boise and Meridian Idaho we live in a place that is about as close to Paradise as can exist outside of the original garden of Eden. I listen to my companion tell me stories about the news in Honduras, or his life 6 years ago and the violence during a government coup (which, who knows, could happen here. We also have elections on the 6th amidst all this tensión. The capital might just explode).
 
So go take a walk in the park, and note how the wáter does not smell foul, and how there are not millions of coke bottles floating in it. Or the street, how nice the chipseal is. Remember the sealed insulated, and electrically wired and ducted bubbles we live in to shield us from the heat and cold, and keep out most bugs and animals.
 
Look at civic organizations. Despite political ideology, or whatever might be their objective, the thing is, we have organizations to help and support about anyone. From the homeless drunk sleeping in Ann Morrison Park on the Boise River, to the rich rancher living in a big house north of Caldwell. We´ve been given a lot. We need to remember, and not be like the Nephites. We need to teach our kids to appreciate what we have and how to take care of and build things too. 
 
‘And we talk of Christ, we rejoice in Christ, we preach of Christ, we prophesy of Christ, and we write according to our prophecies, that our children may know to what source they may look for a remission of their sins…And now behold, I say unto you that the right way is to believe in Christ, and deny him not… Christ is the Holy One of Israel; wherefore ye must bow down before him, and worship him with all your might, mind, and strength, and your whole soul’  — 2 Nephi 25:26, 29.
 
Elder Schafer
Leave a Reply

